Who’s afraid of a little snow?

9 Feb

Today started much like every other day since I got here with a light snow fall.  I was actually relieved that it was snowing instead of sleeting like earlier in the week.  This afternoon, however I don’t feel quite the same.  After a few hours of lovely flakes, the weather took a turn for the worse.  Heavy wet snow began falling too quickly.  And I, like millions of other people in the city, realizing the change in circumstances, turned my focus to getting home safely.

I mentioned in my first post how hilly this city is- imagine grades of 7-12%.  Now imagine 2 inches of snow in an hour or so.  I love hazardous driving, ask anyone who has ridden with me, but a few notes to those of you who think 4-Wheel Drive means you can drive in snow: 1) It is not particularly helpful when your tire treads are packed with snow; 2) It really only works going uphill, downhill is a different story. 

I got the kids at school and after slipping and sliding precariously for almost 15 minutes made the 1 mile trip home.  At home, I then rushed out to walk the dogs.  The whole time while both driving and walking, I had to dodge sliding cars.  The sound of whining tires and the sight of flashing lights coming downhill towards you is disconcerting to say the least. 

Safe now, out of my wet snow clothes, drinking hot chocolate and snuggling with the kids in front of the TV, the tension is beginning to melt away.  But from the looks of it, the snow will not.  I’m betting on a snow day tomorrow.

Spring, anyone?

One Response to “Who’s afraid of a little snow?”

  1. Jake Modla February 13, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I really enjoy reading your blog-Turkey got another plug in the NY Times this weekend-Istanbul is the happening place for the arts it seems.

Leave a Reply

