Kuafor, or another way Turkey has ruined me for normal life.

17 Nov

As I sit here this Saturday afternoon in a busy salon, surrounded by hot air, hot irons, and hot ladies, waiting my turn for an up-do, I think an ode to the Turkish Kuafor is overdue. If you are a boy- stop reading here.

As a starting point, my frame of reference for the salon is the lovely, overpriced, herbal-fragranced place I go twice a year to get my hair trimmed. I have long hair and I don’t dye my hair, so I have not developed much of a relationship with my hairdresser.

After getting over the fear of entrusting my hair to someone with whom I cannot communicate, I have been to salon here about once a month just because it is so much fun. A busy Kuafor is like watching an Aquanet-scented carnival.

To begin, it is cheap and therefor an affordable indulgence. A blow out is about $5, a wash and style is no more than $20- with tip. So every other day, women just stop in on their way to work to have their hair done. Seriously. They never do their own hair. It’s something you can get used to, I promise.

Next, you rarely have one hairdresser working on you. Normally there are two per chair, sometimes more. Why so many? Because they don’t use the same tools. And if they do, it’s like surgery with an attendant waiting to take the dryer and hand the iron or vice versa. I once had my hair curled entirely by hand without curlers. Just a small round brush, a dryer, and an iron. They twirl your hair like cotton candy. It is super cool.

20121117-153701.jpg

Another time, I said I wanted a braid and voilà. Ella has also gotten into the up-do action…

20121117-153822.jpg

20121117-153909.jpg

Today, I am getting an basic up-do. Not exciting, but just what this occasion (black tie ball) requires. Regardless, it was great to have an excuse to find myself back at the Kuafor. So maybe, I undersold the “basic” angle to the stylist.

20121117-165051.jpg
Kevin thinks I look like Alien…

20121117-165126.jpg

Perhaps… But I sure am going to miss hair art.

4 Responses to “Kuafor, or another way Turkey has ruined me for normal life.”

  1. Ashley November 18, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    Fun!! Jealous!! Glad you are enjoying the little things 🙂

    • mkmz2873 November 18, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks! The little things are what make being here awesome or not so much. 😉

  2. intelligentandwittylady November 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Could not agree with you more!!! It’s a terrible (and lovely) indulgence… one I am on my way to this afternoon. I mean, why do my own hair when someone can do it much better while I sip a glass of steaming hot cay and read Turkish Cosmo all for the price of a Starbucks latte?

    • mkmz2873 November 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      Ahhh, now you are making me jealous… I clearly need to clear my calendar tomorrow. : )

Leave a Reply

